1. Met Introduction
  2. Met Applications
  3. Met Broad occupational category
  4. 4 Current step Skill level
  5. 5 Practice quiz I
  6. 6 Step one - Complete

Skill level Return to menu

In the context of the NOC, skill level corresponds to the type and/or amount of training or education typically required to work in an occupation. The NOC consists of four skill levels, identified A through D, which can be identified using the second digit of the NOC code. Each skill level is assigned to two digits ranging from 0 to 7. For instance, when the second digit of a NOC code is a 0 or a 1, the skill level associated with the code is A. The table below illustrates the complete relationship between the alphabetical indicator of the skill level and its accompanying numerical digits.

A skill level is primarily based on the nature of education and training required to be employed in an occupation. This criterion also reflects the experience required to enter in the occupation and the complexity of the responsibilities involved in the work compared to other occupations. In most cases, progression to skill level A from skill level B is not usually possible without the completion of additional formal education, whereas progression from skill level D to skill level C is often achievable through on-the-job training and work experience.

Each skill level is intended to reflect commonly accepted paths to employment in an occupation. Where there are several paths to employment, the skill level most commonly identified by employers is used, considering the context of the occupation and the trends in hiring requirements.

The second digit of the NOC code represents the skill level for all occupations, with the exception of management occupations for which, as discussed on the previous page, the second digit reflects the broad occupational category or indicates that the occupation is considered senior management.

Skill level (alpha) Skill level (digit) Nature of education/training
A – Occupations usually require university education. 0 or 1 University degree at the bachelor's, master's, or doctorate level.
B – Occupations usually require college education, specialized training or apprenticeship training. 2 or 3
  • Two to three years of post-secondary education at a community college, institute of technology, or CEGEP or
  • Two to five years of apprenticeship training or
  • Three to four years of secondary school and more than two years of on-the-job training, specialized training courses, or specific work experience.
  • Occupations with supervisory responsibilities and occupations with significant health and safety responsibilities, such as firefighters, police officers, and registered nursing assistants are all assigned skill level B.
C – Occupations usually require secondary school and/or occupation-specific training. 4 or 5 Some secondary school education, with up to two years of on-the-job training, training courses, or specific work experience
D – On-the-job training is usually provided for occupations. 6 or 7
  • Short work demonstration or on-the-job training or
  • No formal educational requirements.
Previous Next
Date modified: