View unit group

NOC 2021 Version 1.0


Search by job title
Search by NOC code

21222 – Information systems specialists

Information systems specialists analyze, test and assess systems requirements, develop and implement information systems development plans, policies and procedures, and provide advice on a wide range of information systems issues. They are employed in information technology consulting firms and in information technology units throughout the public and private sectors, or they may be self-employed.


Example titles

  • Computer systems analyst
  • Informatics consultant
  • Information systems quality assurance (QA) analyst
  • Information technology (IT) consultant
  • Management information systems (MIS) analyst
  • Systems auditor
  • Systems consultant

Main duties

This group performs some or all of the following duties:
  • Design, develop, test, implement and oversee IT systems
  • Collect and analyze data to identify areas for improvement within an organization's IT infrastructure
  • Review existing IT systems and internal processes
  • Develop, implement and apply policies and procedures throughout the software development life cycle to maximize the efficiency, effectiveness and overall quality of software products and information systems, and to ensure that all systems and processes meet organization standards and user requirements
  • Develop quality assurance procedures and tests for the development and improvement of new and existing systems
  • Identify, analyze and document discrepancies and ensure that appropriate adjustments are made
  • Perform preventive maintenance tasks on computer systems.

Employment requirements

  • A bachelor's degree in computer science, computer systems engineering, software engineering, business administration or a related discipline or completion of a college program in computer science is usually required.
  • Experience as a computer programmer is usually required.
  • A professional certification such as Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA), Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) or another related information technology (IT) designation may be required by some employers.

Additional information


  • Computer and information systems managers (20012)
  • Computer engineers (except software engineers and designers) (21311)
  • Computer systems developers and programmers (21230)
  • Data scientists (21211)
  • Database analysts and data administrators (21223)
  • Financial auditors and accountants (11100)
  • Professional occupations in business management consulting (11201)
  • Software developers and programmers (21232)
  • Software engineers and designers (21231)
  • Web designers (21233)
  • Web developers and programmers (21234)

Breakdown summary

Date modified: