New @ NOC 2011

Skip QuickSearch

Quick Search

End of Quick search

NOC 2011 Release

The National Occupational Classification (NOC) 2011 is jointly released by Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC) and Statistics Canada. This classification replaces ESDC's NOC 2006 and Statistics Canada’s National Occupational Classification for Statistics (NOC-S) 2006 and, eliminates the differences that have existed between these classification systems.

The NOC 2011 implements the revised coding structure based on the NOC Skill Type by Skill Level logic as displayed in the NOC Matrix.

NOC 2011 Highlights

  • Adopts a unified coding structure of 500 unit groups
  • Realigns the NOC-S and NOC structures to a harmonized system of 40 major groups
  • Divides the middle management group into three major groups and incorporates all management occupations into the Skill Level A dimension.
  • Classifies all military occupations into one of two existing unit groups, specific to the military, and consistent with NOC-S coding of military personnel for data purposes.

The NOC 2011 edition is the result of a major revision cycle that involved in-depth research, analysis and assessment of the input received through consultations and job studies. Structural changes include adding, aggregating or merging and splitting of unit group contents and reorganizing the position of certain groups on the Skill Type and Skill Level dimensions. Please view the NOC Concordance table for more details.